Whitney Museum announces the artists participating in Whitney Biennial 2024: “Even Better Than the Real Thing”

January 29, 2024
Diane Severin Nguyen, In Her Time (Iris’s Version), 2022-23. Still from video. Courtesy of the artist.

Chrissie Iles and Meg Onli are the curators of the 81st edition of the show, titled “Even Better Than the Real Thing.” The exhibition will feature sixty-nine artists and two collectives across a gallery showcase, as well as a film and performance program. The diverse line-up includes both emerging artists, such as Gbenga Komolafe and Tee Park, and established artists like Mary Lovelace O’Neal and Pippa Garner. The exhibition will also feature posthumous showcases for Jamaican-born painter Mavis Pusey and filmmaker Edward Owens. In a joint statement, Iles and Onli described the exhibition as “unharmonious in its collectivity” and a “dissonant chorus,” drawing on words from artist Ligia Lewis, who will present a dance-based film installation. The statement also noted the significance of artists grappling with the relationships between the psyche and the body, as well as the challenges of the past few years. The exhibition is intended to explore the challenges of coming together in a fractured moment. The theme and title, which focus on ideas of “the real,” will also delve into how artificial intelligence has influenced discussions about identity. This is reflected in the inclusion of Holly Herndon and Mat Dryhurst, whose work has explored the impact of A.I. on art and artists.

Here’s the full list of artists:

Eddie Rodolfo Aparicio
Dora Budor
Seba Calfuqueo
Demian DinéYazhi’
Torkwase Dyson
JJJJJerome Ellis
Jes Fan
Nikita Gale
ektor garcia
Pippa Garner
Harmony Hammond
Sharon Hayes
Holly Herndon and Mat Dryhurst
Madeleine Hunt-Ehrlich
Suzanne Jackson
Isaac Julien
Lotus L. Kang
Mary Kelly
Carolyn Lazard
Dionne Lee
Ligia Lewis
Mary Lovelace O’Neal
Cannupa Hanska Luger
K.R.M. Mooney
Dala Nasser
Diane Severin Nguyen
Karyn Olivier
B. Ingrid Olson
Eamon Ore-Giron
People Who Stutter Create
Julia Phillips
Mavis Pusey
Maja Ruznic
Ser Serpas
Rose B. Simpson
P. Staff
Clarissa Tossin
Charisse Pearlina Weston
Kiyan Williams
Carmen Winant
Takako Yamaguchi
Constantina Zavitsanos

Film Program Artists:

Siku Allooloo
Seba Calfuqueo
Christopher Harris
Miranda Haymon
Ho Tzu Nyen
Yasmine Anlan Huang
Madeleine Hunt-Ehrlich
Aron Kantor
Gbenga Komolafe and Tee Park
Jenni Laiti
Shuang Li
Simon Liu
Nyala Moon
Niillasaš-Jovnna Máreha Juhani Sunná Máret – Sunna Nousuniemi
Edward Owens
Sydney Frances Pascal
Raqs Media Collective
Riar Rizaldi
Penelope Spheeris
Lada Suomenrinne
Alisi Telengut
Chanelle Tyson
Zulaa Urchuud

Performance Program Artists:

Holland Andrews
JJJJJerome Ellis
Sarah Hennies
Alex Tatarsky

Find more stories