Turner Prize 2013 Shortlist announced / London

May 2, 2013

Tate Britain has announced the four shortlisted artists for the Turner Prize 2013. The exhibition this year will be held at Ebrington in Derry-Londonderry as part of the UK City of Culture 2013. The artists are (in alphabetical order): Laure Prouvost, Tino Sehgal, David Shrigley and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye.

The members of the Turner Prize 2013 jury are: Annie Fletcher, Curator of Exhibitions, Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven, Susanne Gaensheimer, Director of Frankfurt’s Museum of Modern Art, Declan Long, writer and lecturer at National College of Art and Design,
Dublin and Ralph Rugoff, Director of Hayward Gallery, London. The jury is chaired by Penelope Curtis, Director of Tate Britain.

The Turner Prize award is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists. The Prize was established in 1984, and is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 16 April 2013.

The winner of this year’s edition will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 2 December 2013.

Find more stories