MOMENTUM 7 Artists Revealed Moss / Norway

May 7, 2013

32 international artists will take part in MOMENTUM 7, the Nordic Biennial for Contemporary Art.

Erlend Hammer (Sweden) and Power Ekroth (Norway) are curating two separate parts for MOMENTUM 7, each with an individual exhibition title and group of artists. Working closely with their invited artists, both curators are interested in this collaborative process.

Power Ekroth’s section titled “Six Impossible Things Before Breakfast” includes the artists: Sergei Bugaev Afrika (Russia), Loulou Cherinet (Sweden/Ethiopia), Jan Christensen (Norway), Cevdet Erek (Turkey), Bjørn-Kowalski Hansen (Norway), Goran Hassanpour (Sweden/Kurdistan), Laura Horelli (Finland), Stine-Marie Jacobsen (Denmark), Hassan Khan (Egypt), Gabriel Lester (The Nederlands), Lisi Raskin (USA), Johan Zetterquist (Sweden), Clemens von Wedemeyer (Germany). Ekroth says the exhibition is “advocating a romantic thought about contemporary art being worth something beyond an economical value, or a simple marker of social stand”, and “will challenge the visitors stop for a second and think about what art may be and mean to a society”.

The selected artists for Erlend Hammer’s section, “Dare 2 Love Yourself”, are Matthew Antezzo (USA), Per Christian Brown (Norway), Paolo Chiasera (Italy), Ane Graff (Norway), Mai Hofstad Gunnes (Norway), Knut Henrik Henriksen (Norway), Ane Mette Hol (Norway), Victor Lind (Norway), Jared Madere (USA), Bjarne Melgaard (Norway), Sex Tags (Norway), Eve K. Tremblay (Canada), Lars Monrad Vaage (Norway), Charlotte Wankel (Norway), Sverre Wyller (Norway). The artists were invited on the basis that their work should function well together. Some works are now presented in Norway for the first time, or in a new context where they get to play against other works. Other works were produced especially for this exhibition.

This year’s MOMENTUM 7 runs from June 22 – September 29 2013 at the Momentum kunsthall, Moss, Norway.

Find more stories