Marcel Duchamp Prize winner to be awarded at FIAC Paris

October 18, 2011

The Marcel Duchamp Prize, launched in 2000 by ADIAF (the Association for the International Diffusion of French Art), has announced the 2011 finalists: Damien Cabanes (b. 1959), Mircea Cantor (b. 1977), Guillaume Leblon (b. 1971) and Samuel Rousseau (b. 1971).

The Marcel Duchamp Prize was created to honor contemporary artists who are French citizens or residents of France. All nominated artists are rewarded with an exhibition at the FIAC (International Contemporary Art Fair) in Paris along with the publication of a catalogue by ADIAF about their work.

The finalists’ work will be exhibited at the Grand Palais in Paris during FIAC from Thursday, October 20 to Sunday, October 23. The winner will be announced on Saturday, October 22 at 11am.

The winner will receive a solo exhibition at the Centre Pompidou’s 315 Space along with a catalogue sponsored by the institution, support by the ADIAF toward the production of the work and a financial prize of 35,000€.

Past winners of the prize include Thomas Hirschhorn (2000), Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster (2002), Mathieu Mercier (2003), Carole Benzaken (2004), Claude Closky (2005), Philippe Mayaux (2006), Tatiana Trouvé (2007), Laurent Grasso (2008), Saâdane Afif (2009) and Cyprien Gaillard (2010).

Find more stories